Honor Administrator

Award information on KMEA state site

Nomination Form

KMEA honors one administrator each year at the ISW conference.

Members of SWKMEA have a special opportunity to nominate an administrator as a candidate for the SWKMEA Honor Administrator Award. This annual award recognizes those administrators who have demonstrated continuing leadership in developing, improving, and supporting music education within a wider commitment to arts education, i.e., music, theater, visual arts, and dance.

Music educators are aware of the importance of principals and superintendents in creating and maintaining successful music programs. School district policy coupled with administrative management decisions pertaining to budget, scheduling, and facilities often have a long-range impact on arts education. Hence, administrators are key players in molding music education curricula. The Honor Administrator Award is an attempt to encourage and recognize the on-going administrative support of arts education in local school districts of Southwest Kansas.

The award will be presented during a SWKMEA mini-convention. The recipient will receive additional recognition through press releases to appropriate news media and professional journals, including a feature article to appear in a later issue of the Kansas Music Review. Current SWKMEA members are urged to submit names of candidates to the district President by September 1. A SWKMEA member or members must make nominations, but involvement from throughout the nominee's school district is encouraged.

Nominees should be exceptionally skillful within their administrative unit, showing special support for the arts as an indispensable part of the school curriculum. Indicators of an administrator's commitment to arts education might include personal attitude and philosophy, program development and improvement, sensitivity to the special needs of space, scheduling, and equipment, leadership in providing opportunities for professional growth of teachers, and leadership in providing local community and financial support.

Nominating Procedure
Any SWKMEA member or group of members may nominate an administrator for the Honor Administrator Award. Additional involvement by other persons in the nominee's school district is encouraged.

The nomination application should include: the completed application form, nominee's biographical information, nominee's professional experience (including years in present position), degrees earned, professional and civic organizations, and honors receiveda description of the school system’s music program such as resources, number of students and teachers, etc.; and a description of any unique features or characteristics of the arts/music program within the building, district, or community.

The application may also include letters of endorsement and clippings of pertinent articles, photographs, or other sources which detail the nominee's distinctive contributions to the field of music education.

All nominations must include the name, address, and phone number of the individual SWKMEA member(s) submitting the application. Nominations must be in the hands of the SWKMEA President on or before September 1.

The SWKMEA President will serve as the Chairman of the Honor Administrator Award Committee for the Southwest District of KMEA. Copies of all nominations received by the deadline will be forwarded to the state KMEA Honor Administrator Award Committee.

The award will be presented during a SWKMEA Mini-Convention, and notification will be sent to the Kansas Music Review for publication in the state journal.

Past Recipients

2017-18 Stephanie Bandyberry Macksville
2016-17 Chad Krug Holcomb
2015-16 David Ediger Cimarron
2014-15 Ken Bockwinkel Tribune
2013-14 Mark Webb Southwestern Heights
2012-13 Mike King Dodge City
2011-12 David Meter Great Bend
2010-11 Tamie Preston Dodge City
2009-10 Keith Higgins Wichita County
2008-09 Janet Reed Garden City
2007-08 Jacque Feist Dodge City
2006-07 David Meter Great Bend
2005-06 Kenneth Harshberger Meade
2004-05 Dean Katt Scott City
2003-04 Marc Woofter Cimarron
2002-03 Dave Novack Holcomb